JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) —Four filibustering Missouri senators upset about the growth of federal spending thought they had a deal to reject about $250 million of federal stimulus money. In in the end, they settled for a $14 million cut in Missouri’s stimulus spending and declared a symbolic victory.

The Missouri Senate ended an all-night filibuster Wednesday morning and passed a budget bill reauthorizing the expenditure of about $450 million of federal stimulus money. The chamber’s 20-8 vote came after a divided Republican caucus met twice behind closed doors, ultimately agreeing to slice off only a portion of the federal money that the filibustering senators had demanded be axed.

“At the end of the day, I think that people are addicted to the opium — they’re addicted to the federal money and they can’t say no,” said a frustrated and sleep-deprived Sen. Jim Lembke, R-St. Louis.

Lembke was part of a tag-team filibuster effort that also included Republican Sens. Brian Nieves of Washington, Rob Schaaf of St. Joseph and Will Kraus of Lee’s Summit. It was their second major stalling effort of the year in a quest to highlight what they consider to be out-of-control federal spending and deficits.

Voting “yes” were 16 Republicans and 4 Democrats.

Voting “no” were 7 Republicans and 1 Democrat.

Not voting were 3 Republicans and 3 Democrats.


  • Dan Brown, Rolla.
  • Tom Dempsey, St. Charles.
  • Bob Dixon, Springfield.
  • Kevin Engler, Farmington.
  • Mike Kehoe, Jefferson City.
  • Brad Lager, Savannah.
  • Rob Mayer, Dexter.
  • Brian Munzlinger, Williamstown.
  • Mike Parson, Bolivar.
  • David Pearce, Warrensburg.
  • Ron Richard, Joplin.
  • Scott Rupp, Wentzville.
  • Kurt Schaefer, Columbia.
  • Eric Schmitt, Glendale.
  • Bill Stouffer, Napton.
  • Jay Wasson, Nixa.


  • Jason Crowell, Cape Girardeau.
  • Jane Cunningham, Chesterfield.
  • Jack Goodman, Mount Vernon.
  • Will Kraus, Lee’s Summit.
  • Jim Lembke, St. Louis.
  • Brian Nieves, Washington.
  • Rob Schaaf, St. Joseph.
  • Victor Callahan, Independence.
  • Kiki Curls, Kansas City.
  • Jolie Justus, Kansas City.
  • Joe Keaveny, St. Louis.
  • Robin Wright-Jones, St. Louis.


  • John Lamping, St. Louis.
  • Chuck Purgason, Caulfield.
  • Luann Ridgeway, Smithville.


  • Maria Chappelle-Nadal, St. Louis.
  • Tim Green, St. Louis.
  • Ryan McKenna, Crystal City.

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App

Listen Live