14 Counties Declared Disaster Areas

SPRINGFIELD, IL. (KMOX) – More than a dozen counties in Illinois were declared disaster areas by President Obama today.

Randolph County in the Metro East is among them.  There are 14 counties in all.  (Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hardin, Jackson, Lawrence, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, White and Williamson)

The declaration is due to storms and flooding in Southern Illinois that destroyed or damaged nearly a thousand homes and businesses in late April and early May.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans.

FEMA administers the federal assistance program. The toll free number is 800-621 FEMA (3362)  Registration can also be completed online at www.fema.gov

Copyright KMOX Radio


More From CBS St. Louis

KMOX Podcasts
As Heard On KMOX

Listen Live