Illinois H.S. Driver Ed Cost Going Up?
Get Breaking News First
SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (AP) __ The cost of driver education could be on the way up in Illinois. A new law gives school districts permission to charge up to $250 in fees for driver education courses. Until now, the fees have been limited to $50.
Districts will have to hold public hearings before the fees can be increased. They’re also required to skip the fee for students who can’t afford it.
Many schools have already been charging higher fees, thanks to state waivers letting them ignore the $50 limit. Supporters say the higher limit will eliminate the time and red tape involved in getting those waivers.
Gov. Quinn signed the bill into law Thursday.
The bill is SB1643.
Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press