Ferguson Passes Nondiscrimination Law

FERGUSON, Mo. (AP) — Ferguson has become the sixth town in St. Louis County to pass a law prohibiting discrimination based on sexual preference.

The Ferguson City Council unanimously approved the nondiscrimination protections Tuesday. Councilman Dwayne James says residents need to know that the city is welcoming to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people.

Other St. Louis County towns that have passed similar laws include University City, Olivette, Clayton, Richmond Heights and Creve Couer. St. Louis city, Kansas City, Columbia and Jackson County have also passed nondiscrimination measures.

© Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


More From CBS St. Louis

KMOX Podcasts
As Heard On KMOX

Listen Live