SPRINGFIELD,Ill. (KMOX) – A cell phone call could be costly for some Illinois drivers this New Year.
“If a trooper or any other police officer from a department in the state of Illinois observes a motorist traveling with a phone held in their hand next to their ear, that is illegal, ” says Illinois State Trooper Calvin Dye Junior. “You will get pulled over for it and you will be cited for it.”
Dye tells KMOX fines are up to a judge but can range from $60 to $140. The new law now in effect with the new year does allow drivers to use hands-free devices or speakers for cell calls. And Dye says it’s okay to pull off to the shoulder to make or take emergency calls.
Copyright KMOX Radio