St. Louis, Rockford Chosen for Federal Initiative

WASHINGTON (KMOX) – St. Louis is among seven cities chosen to take part in a federal initiative aimed at bettering the city and tackling some of its urban challenges.

U.S Department of Housing and Urban Development Secretary Shaun Donovan announce the expansion of the Strong Cities, Strong Communities Initiative (SC2) Thursday. Its part of the Obama Administration’s commitment to help cities recover from the economic recession.

Besides St. Louis, Gary, Ind.; Flint Mich.; Brownsville, Texas; Rockford, Ill.; Macon Ga.; and Rocky Mount, N.C.; will receive a group of federal “inter-agency” experts that will work in the mayor’s office with the goal of creating projects that will more effectively invest existing resources and create partnerships.

In 2011, the Obama administration launched the SC2 initiative in six other cities. For a full report on the progress of the initiative, click here.

Those first cities are Fresno, Calif.; Chester, Pa.; Cleveland, Ohio; Detroit, Mich.; Memphis, Tenn.; and New Orleans, La.


More From CBS St. Louis

Listen Now
Introducing Your New Podcast Network
Find St. Louis' Top Spots

Listen Live