New Tanning Booth Restrictions for Teens Signed into Law
CBS St. Louis (con't)
Affordable Care Act Updates: CBSStL.com/ACA
Health News & Information: CBSStL.com/Health
ST. LOUIS (KMOX) – Anyone under 17 in Missouri will soon need signed parental consent before using a tanning booth, bed or other tanning device at a business.
Gov. Jay Nixon signed the bill into law, much to the delight of Dr. Lynn Cornellius, dermatology chief at Washington University School of Medicine and Siteman Cancer Center.
Cornellius says that 90 percent of all skin cancers are related to ultraviolet sun exposure, and studies have shown anywhere from a 59 to 75 percent increase of the risk of melanoma—the most serious type of skin cancer—for any exposure to a tanning bed.
“It’s incredibly exciting because attendant with this bill also comes a universal consent form that will be developed by the Department of Health and Senior Services that will include the risks of indoor tanning, so that this is truly an opportunity to educate parents on the risks of tanning beds, particularly to their children,” she says.
More than 30 other states already restrict teen tanning.
Missouri’s law is set to take effect August 28.
(TM and © Copyright 2014 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2014 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)
MORE HEALTH NEWS:
- LISTEN: First Frozen Embryo Case in Missouri To Go To Appellate Court
- Missouri Abortion Licensing Law Splits GOP, Health Officials
- New Study Shows Dangers of E-Cigs to Children
- Local Health Official Encourages Early Flu Vaccinations
- Local Cancer Specialist: Why Chance of Getting Cancer Second Time on the Rise
- New Push To Raise Missouri’s Cigarette Tax