ST. LOUIS (KMOX) – Former Cardinals slugger Mark McGwire received his lowest vote total yet in his fifth year on the Hall of Fame ballot.

After his admission to using steroids last spring, many were anxious to see if voters would now check the box next to his name since many had asked for him to be truthful about his past. However, McGwire was named on 115 of the 581 ballots cast, or 19.8 percent, which is down from his 23.7 percent in 2010 and 21.9 percent — his previous low — in 2009.

Former Cardinal reliever Lee Smith also suffered a minor setback in his bid going from 47.3 percent of the vote in 2010 to 45.3 percent this year. Another former Redbird Larry Walker showed up on 20.3 percent of ballets submitted in his first year of eligibility.

Roberto Alomar, a 12-time All-Star and 10-time Gold Glove winning second baseman, and Bert Blyleven, a 287-game winning pitcher who ranks fifth on the all-time strikeout list, were elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America in balloting verified by Ernst & Young.

A record 581 ballots, including five blanks, were cast by BBWAA members with 10 or more consecutive years’ service. Players must be named on 75 percent of ballots submitted to be elected. This year, 436 votes were required. The previous record total of ballots submitted in a BBWAA election was 545 in 2007 when Cal Ripken Jr. was elected with 537 votes and Tony Gwynn with 532, the two top individual vote totals.

The vote: Roberto Alomar 523 (90.0%), Bert Blyleven 463 (79.7%), Barry Larkin 361 (62.1%), Jack Morris 311 (53.5%), Lee Smith 263 (45.3%), Jeff Bagwell 242 (41.7%), Tim Raines 218 (37.5%), Edgar Martinez 191 (32.9%), Alan Trammell 141 (24.3%), Larry Walker 118 (20.3%), Mark McGwire 115 (19.8%), Fred McGriff 104 (17.9%), Dave Parker 89 (15.3%), Don Mattingly 79 (13.6%), Dale Murphy 73 (12.6%), Rafael Palmeiro 64 (11.0%), Juan Gonzalez 30 (5.2%), Harold Baines 28 (4.8%), John Franco 27 (4.6%), Kevin Brown 12 (2.1%), Tino Martinez 6 (1.0%), Marquis Grissom 4 (0.7%), Al Leiter 4 (0.7%), John Olerud 4 (0.7%), B.J. Surhoff 2 (0.3%), Bret Boone 1 (0.2%), Benito Santiago 1 (0.2%), Carlos Baerga 0, Lenny Harris 0, Bobby Higginson 0, Charles Johnson 0, Raul Mondesi 0, Kirk Rueter 0.

Copyright KMOX Radio

  1. William A. Schaedler says:

    I hope this bum never makes it to the hall of fame. Somewhere in this country honesty must reign. Dishonesty and corruption have destroyed American politics. I would like to think that at least the sporting field could remain untainted. Winning at any price must cease.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s