ST. LOUIS, Mo. (AP) — Stanford’s Christen Press and Akron’s Darlington Nagbe have won the 2010 Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy, presented to the best female and male players in NCAA Division I soccer.

The two forwards selected by coaches were announced Friday.

Press led the nation with 26 goals, tying a Stanford single-season record, and 60 points while helping the Cardinal reach the College Cup final. The senior finishes her career with Stanford records for goals (71), assists (41) and points (183).

Nagbe, a junior, helped Akron win its first national championship in any sport. Nagbe started all 25 games for the Zips and scored seven goals and added a career-high 13 assists, which led the team. Six of his assists set up game-winning goals.

(Copyright: The Associated Press)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live