JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) –  Gov. Jay Nixon is to appoint commissioners Friday to redraw Missouri’s state House and Senate districts based on the 2010 census.

The Missouri Constitution requires the governor to appoint a panel of five Republicans and five Democrats to redraw Senate districts, and a panel of nine Democrats and nine Republicans to redraw the House districts.

Nixon will be picking from nominees provided by state Democratic and Republican party committees.

Among those nominated are former Democratic Lt. Gov. Joe Maxwell, former Republican House Speaker and U.S. Attorney Catherine Hanaway and several other ex-lawmakers.

The redistricting commissions have six months to come up with new boundaries, which must be approved by a 70 percent vote of the panels.

Otherwise, the districts will be redrawn by panel of six appeals court judges.

Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live