Tanya Sinkovits

JEFFERSON CITY, MO. (KMOX) — Those who lost property and revenue this long winter can breath a little easier. Missouri will receive Federal Aid from the snowstorm during the first week of February.

Local governments will be eligible for federal funding to cover the cost of emergency work, and any repairs to or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storm.


FEMA Fact Sheet

Those counties include:

  • Adair, Andrew, Audrain,
  • Barton, Bates, Benton, Boone,
  • Caldwell, Callaway, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Clark, Clinton, Cole, Cooper,
  • Dade, Dallas, DeKalb,
  • Grundy,
  • Henry, Hickory, Howard,
  • Johnson,
  • Knox,
  • Laclede, Lafayette, Lewis, Linn, Livingston,
  • Macon, Madison, Maries, Marion, McDonald, Miller, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan,
  • Newton,
  • Osage,
  • Pettis, Platte, Polk, Pulaski, Putnam, Ralls,
  • Randolph, Ray,
  • Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, St. Clair, Sullivan,
  • Vernon, and
  • Worth.

Several other counties can apply for reimbursement in snow removable services during that 48-hour period.

Wednesday’s release by FEMA did not disclose how much money Missouri will receive. Missouri initial requested $14 million in aid.

Tuesday, President Obama give his home state more than 4 times that, giving Illinois counties $64 million for blizzard aid.

Mike O’Connell of Missouri’s Emergency Management Agency says now that the president declared Missouri a disaster area, crews will now assess exactly how much Missouri needs.

Copyright KMOX Radio


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App

Listen Live