WASHINGTON (KMOX) – President Obama has granted Governor Nixon’s request for federal assistance due to storms and flooding.

The president  agreed to the request for a disaster declaration.

It will mean assistance to individuals and households in St. Louis, Butler, Mississippi, Taney and New Madrid Counties.

The President also granted a public assistance declaration for St. Louis County which will allow governments to seek assistance for response and recovery expenses associated with severe storms and tornadoes.

Governor Nixon said more counties may be designated disaster areas as additional damage assessments are completed.

Copyright KMOX Radio


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App

Listen Live