KANSAS CITY, Kan. (AP) — Brad Keselowksi held off Dale Earnhardt Jr. to win Sunday’s NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Kansas Speedway and pick up his first victory of the year.

Keselowski led the final nine laps, conserving just enough fuel to stave off Earnhardt and snap a 75-race winless streak.

Earnardt finished second for the second week in a row in a fuel mileage race. Earnhardt appeared to have enough to make a late charge on Keselowski. That push never came — though Earnhardt did move up to third in the points standings.

Denny Hamlin was third, followed by Jeff Gordon and Columbia, Mo. native Carl Edwards.

Polesitter Kurt Busch led for 152 laps Sunday and finished ninth. He had to stop for gas as the leader with 10 laps remaining.

Brad Keselowski’s connection to the St. Louis area is that he drove two Nascar Truck Series races for St. Louis based Mike Mittler and his #63 MB Motorsports team in 2006.

Copyright Associated Press/KMOX 


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live