Dan Warner

ST. LOUIS, Mo. (KMOX) – The federal government continues to provide disaster relief for Missouri residents affected by the wave of natural disasters that has taken place during the past month.

FEMA has registered more than 13,000 households statewide for disaster relief funding, reaching an approved total of over $20.3 million. More than half of that funding has been approved for Jasper County residents, the victims of the devastating Joplin tornado.

Susie Stonner, FEMA spokesperson at the Joplin field office, says there are three Disaster Recovery Centers open in Joplin where registered residents can have questions answered about relief efforts.

“They can talk with someone … one-on-one if they have questions,” Stonner said.

Stonner said the period to register with FEMA ends July 8, and she encourages anyone that has experienced damages to register. Residents of the 21 declared disaster counties can call to register at 1-800-621-3362 or online at www.disasterassistance.gov.

Copyright KMOX Radio


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App

Listen Live