COOPERSTOWN, NY (KMOX) – Ten of baseball’s most beloved and honored broadcasters, including St. Louis' own Mike Shannon were named Wednesday as the finalists for the 2012 Ford C. Frick Award. The award is presented annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

The 10 finalists for the 2012 Frick Award are: Skip Caray, Rene Cardenas, Tom Cheek, Ken Coleman, Jacques Doucet, Bill King, Tim McCarver, Graham McNamee, Eric Nadel and Mike Shannon.

The winner of the 2012 Frick Award will be announced on December 6th at the Baseball Winter Meetings and honored during Hall of Fame Weekend, July 20-23, 2012 in Cooperstown.

The 10 finalists for the 2012 Frick Award include the three fan selections produced from online balloting at the Hall of Fame’s Facebook site,, throughout September.

A total of 37,212 votes were cast, a record under this voting format. Shannon, Cheek and Doucet emerged as the top three fan selections, respectively, in the online voting.

The other seven candidates were chosen by a Hall of Fame research committee. McCarver, Nadel and Shannon are the active broadcasters on the ballot.

Cardenas and Doucet are the only other living candidates among the finalists.

The 10 finalists for the 2012 Frick Award:

  • Caray broadcast Braves games on TBS for 33 years while bringing the team to a national audience via cable television;
  • Cardenas helped create the first Spanish-language MLB broadcast in 1958 with the Dodgers, working a total of 38 years for the Dodgers, Astros and Rangers;
  • Cheek broadcast 31 major league seasons covering the Montreal Expos (1974-’76) and Toronto Blue Jays (1977-2004), the last 28 seasons as the Jays’ radio play-by-play man with 4,603 straight games broadcast, before his death during the 2005 season;
  • Coleman spent 35 years with the Indians (1954-63), Reds (1975-78) and Red Sox (1966-74, 79-89);
  • Doucet spent his entire 34 year career broadcasting for the Expos as the play-by-play radio voice on their French network (1969-2004);
  • King worked for 25 seasons (1981-2005) as the A’s lead play-by-play voice on radio;
  • McCarver has broadcast for 31 seasons, the last 16 for Fox-TV on their national broadcast – extending a string of 21 seasons working the postseason;
  • McNamee was a national pioneer in sports broadcasting, calling games for 13 seasons for Westinghouse and NBC, also calling 12 World Series;
  • Nadel has spent the last 33 seasons with the Rangers – the longest tenure of any announcer in franchise history – including the last 17 as the club’s lead play-by-play voice;
  • Shannon has called Cardinals games for 40 years following a nine-year playing career with the Redbirds.

More Information:

Copyright KMOX Radio


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App

Listen Live