JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) — Eight law enforcement officers have received Medal of Valor awards from Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon for acts of heroism.

Nixon presented the medals Wednesday during a ceremony at the state Capitol. The annual awards are based on the recommendation of a special review board.

The medal recipients for actions that occurred in 2010 are: Mathew Crosby and Jorden Lewis of the Rock Hill Police Department; Donald Doza of the Missouri State Highway Patrol; Joseph Haman of the St. Louis Police Department; Steven Landsness of the O’Fallon Police Department; Darren Rodgers of the Arnold Police Department; Gerald Williams of the Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office; and Kenneth Smith Jr. of the St. Joseph Police Department.

(© Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App

Listen Live