ST. JOSEPH, Mo. (AP) — The Federal Emergency Management Agency has again extended the deadline for residents in six Missouri counties to apply for federal disaster assistance.

FEMA spokesman John Mills says the new deadline is Dec. 10 for residents of Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Holt, Lafayette and Platte counties to apply for grant money. He says the state had requested the extension.

Mills says people with flood insurance, and those without, all are eligible to apply. He says many people are combining FEMA money with disaster loans from the Small Business Administration to bring their homes to their condition before the summer Missouri River flooding.

FEMA already has distributed more than $2.7 million, while SBA has approved about $4.7 million in disaster loans for homes and businesses.

(© Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App

Listen Live