BRENTWOOD, Tenn. (AP) – The Ohio Valley Conference will split into divisions for men’s and women’s basketball for the 2012-13 season.

The OVC announced the decision Thursday.

The conference has not determined how it will determine tournament seeding and bracketing, but says the league’s athletic directors will make a decision on the matter soon.

Belmont will become the OVC’s 12 member on July 1, making the conference the largest it’s ever been since it was formed in 1948.

Belmont will join Eastern Kentucky, Jacksonville State, Morehead State, Tennessee State and Tennessee Tech to form the conference’s East Division.

The West Division will include Austin Peay, Eastern Illinois, Murray State, Southeast Missouri State, SIU-Edwardsville and Tennessee-Martin.

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App

Listen Live