Tanya Sinkovits

ST. LOUIS, Mo. (KMOX) — Local fireworks displays are falling victim to the ongoing drought and extreme heat.

You can now add Chesterfield, J.B. Bridge, and Eureka to the list of communities cancelling their Fourth of July fireworks shows.

Arnold, Salem, Farmington, and Dexter in Missouri, as well as Columbia, Illinois are cancelling their Fourth of July firework displays. Six Flags St. Louis has announced the cancellation of their fireworks as well, citing the same reasons; drought and heat. Manchester is postponing its show until August 3rd, and Pacific, Mo. announced it’s moving its show from Sunday to July 14th.

Earlier this week, officials in Kirkwoord tossed around the idea of canceling their display, but have not at this time. The heat, however has prompted Kirkwood city officials to cut back on municipal water usage, and they’re asking residents to use restraint when watering their lawns or gardens.

While larger Missouri cities such as St. Louis and Kansas City routinely ban backyard fireworks, several more cities are doing the same this year because of the fire risk. Those cities include New Madrid, Matthews, Bloomfield, Advance, Bell City, Essex, Bertrand and Fair Grove.

sky lanterns Heat, Dry Conditions Force Several Missouri Towns to Cancel Fireworks ShowsRolla has also announced a ban on using sky lanterns within city limits.

The St. Charles County Parks Department has issued a fire ban at parks with camping facilities. These fire restrictions are in place to ensure the safety of all park guests.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App

Listen Live