ST. LOUIS, Mo. (KMOX) — St. Louis County Police Officer Kathy Kelly has been chosen as the National 2012 DARE Officer of the Year.

On Wednesday Officer Kelly of the St. Louis County Police Patrol Ancillary Services Unit received the National DARE Officer of the Year Award at their annual conference and ceremony in Atlanta, Georgia.

The award was presented by DARE America. St. Louis County Police Chief Tim Fitch was also present at the ceremony.

Officer Kelly joined the St. Louis County Police Department in 1985 and became a DARE Officer in 1991. She has been a St. Louis County Police DARE Officer for 21 years and was honored as the Missouri DARE Officer of the year in 2008.

To become the National DARE Officer, she was chosen from among 50 candidates, one from each state. She was nominated by representatives from the Missouri and regional chapters of DARE and the Missouri Police Chiefs Association.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App

Listen Live