In this special edition, Scott Warmann recaps the 55th Annual Baseball Writers’ Association of America dinner. Emceed by Cardinals broadcaster John Rooney, the night turned into a remembrance and celebration of Stan Musial, who passed away at the age of 92 on Saturday, a night before the event.

The Darryl Kile Award has been presented annually to the Cardinals player who best exemplifies Kile’s traits of “a good teammate, a great friend, a fine father and a humble man.” This year’s winner was Jake Westbrook.

The Dr. Robert F. Hyland/Rick Hummel Award was given to Jay Randolph, who was introduced by Ron Jacober, for his many years of work in sports media in the St. Louis area as well as national coverage.

Following a breakout career season, Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina was honored as the St. Louis Man of the Year. Unfortunately, Molina could not make the event. Derrick Goold of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch spoke about the terrific catcher.

General John Mozeliak made his annual report about the ball club that went back to their second straight NLCS in 2012. Also, Adam Wainwright received the Physical Comeback Award; he won 14 games after missing all of the 2011 season following elbow surgery.

Cardinals Farm Director John Vuch presented the minor league player of the year to Oscar Tavares, who was not in attendance, and the pitcher of the year to Seth Maness.

KMOX Sports Director Tom Ackerman took some time during the event to speak with some key players from the current Cardinals team including Daniel Descalso, Pete Kozma, Randy Choate, Allen Craig, Mitchell Boggs, Jon Jay, Carlos Beltran & David Freese.

Mike Matheny did a fantastic job in his rookie season as the Cardinals manager taking over for future Hall of Fame manager Tony La Russa. For his work, the Redbird’s skipper earned the J. Roy Stockton/Bob Broeg Award for Outstanding Achievement in Baseball.