JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) — Three high schools in the St. Louis area will share $1.3 million in grants to establish innovation programs.

Gov. Jay Nixon announced the awards Thursday. The programs will allow students to intern with local businesses and earn college credit through St. Louis Community College.

The Pattonville School District and St. Louis Innovation High School were awarded $500,000 each, while the Ferguson-Florissant district received $300,000.

Missouri is one of six states qualifying for the funding, which is administered by Harvard University and Jobs for the Future.

© Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App

Listen Live