LAUSANNE, Switzerland (AP) — It’s officially a six-man race to succeed Jacques Rogge as International Olympic Committee president.

The deadline closed Friday without any new candidates entering the campaign.

The six who had already declared their candidacies are: IOC vice presidents Thomas Bach of Germany and Ser Miang Ng of Singapore; executive board members Sergei Bubka of Ukraine and C. K. Wu of Taiwan; and former board members Richard Carrion of Puerto Rico and Denis Oswald of Switzerland.

The election is scheduled for Sept. 10 in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Rogge is stepping down after completing the maximum 12-year mandate.

The six candidates will present their manifestos to the 100-plus IOC members at closed-door meetings in Lausanne on July 3-4.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App

Listen Live