COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. (KMOX) – Mike Shannon and nine others are among the finalists for the National Baseball Hall of Fame’s Ford C. Frick Award for broadcasting, museum officials announced Wednesday.

Mike Shannon is in his 42nd year of calling St. Louis Cardinals games. His career in the booth follows a nine-year playing career for the Redbirds. The 74-year-old is a St. Louis native who attended CBC High School and the University of Missouri.

The finalists for the 2014 Frick Award are: Joe Castiglione, Jacques Doucet, Ken Harrelson, Bill King, Duane Kuiper, Eric Nadel, Eduardo Ortega, Mike Shannon, Dewayne Staats and Pete van Wieren.

A 20-member panel will consider the merits of the ten finalists and three online vote nominees, with a decision to be announced December 11 at the Baseball Winter Meetings.

Previous winners of the Ford C. Frick Award include Jack Buck in 1987 and Harry Caray in 1989.

Comments (2)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Listen Live