WASHINGTON (KMOX) – On the brink of a debt default, Congress finally approved a plan late Wednesday evening to temporarily end the shutdown and restore some measure of normalcy to Washington. But nearly every Missouri Republican in Congress voted against the deal.

In the Senate, both Roy Blunt (R-MO) and Claire McCaskill (D-MO) voted for the compromise bill, as did Dick Durbin (D-IL).

The final roll call count in the Senate was 81 to 18.

In the House it was a different story. Six Republicans Ann Wagner, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Vicky Hartzler, Sam Graves, Billy Long and Jason Smith voted against the bill, while Democrats William “Lacy” Clay Jr. and Emanuel Cleaver voted for it.

John Shimkus (R-IL) voted for the deal as well.

The final count in the house was 285 to 144.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App

Listen Live