ST. LOUIS (KMOX) – The St. Louis Media History Foundation today announced the 2017 inductees to the St. Louis Media Hall of Fame.

KMOX is proud to announce that our own Peggy Cohill, executive producer of “The Charlie Brennan Show” and program producer at the station for more than 40 years, is one of the Hall of Fame’s inductees.

The inductees were judged by the St. Louis Media History Foundation board of directors to have made significant contributions to St. Louis journalism, advertising, and public relations, and were selected from among dozens of nominees, according to a news release.

The rest of the 2017 inductees are:

John Beck – Senior Vice President of Emmis Communications who oversees all four Emmis radio stations in St. Louis: KSHE, KIHT, KPNT, and KFTK. He has been general manager of KSHE since 1984.

Jim Brady – Pioneering news director at KTVI-TV. He later held the same position at KMOX radio before becoming executive secretary of the St. Louis County Board of Police Commissioners.

Dennis Clancy, Art Dwyer, Ron Edwards, John McHenry, and Tom “Pappa” Ray – Jazz/blues producers for listener-supported KDHX when the station began broadcasting in 1987. They enter the Hall as a group.

Bob Dotson – Emmy-winning correspondent for NBC News, where he spent 40 years, including 25 with “The Today Show.” He is a six-time recipient of the Edward R. Murrow Award for news writing.

Mary Edwards – Senior producer of St. Louis Public Radio’s “St. Louis on the Air” call-in program and its live broadcasts of the St. Louis Symphony. She has helped shape St. Louis Public Radio’s programming since 1974.

David Erich – Public relations executive for several St. Louis-area companies, including Pepsi and United Van Lines. He was the first advertising executive for Six Flags when it opened in 1971.

Dan Forrestal – Longtime public relations executive with Monsanto who mentored many people in public relations and wrote a 75th-anniversary history of Monsanto in 1977.

Don Francois – Pioneering TV engineer who helped launch KACY-TV, one of the first UHF stations in St. Louis. He later helped other local stations transition from black-and-white to color broadcasts.

Margaret Freivogel – Award-winning St. Louis Post-Dispatch reporter and editor. She was founding editor of the St. Louis Beacon, a digital news startup that merged with St. Louis Public Radio in 2013.

Roy Harris – Post-Dispatch reporter from 1926 to 1967. He won a Pulitzer Prize in 1950 for exposing the presence of dozens of editors on the Illinois state payroll, and helped the newspaper win three others in 1937, 1941, and 1948.

Rick Hummel – Longtime Cardinals beat writer for the Post-Dispatch. He is a former Baseball Writers’ Association of America president, a J.G Taylor Spink Award winner, and a Pulitzer nominee.

Sid Savan – A major figure in St. Louis advertising who also was a longtime instructor at the University of Missouri-St. Louis. His Savan Advertising agency helped many prominent ad executives get their start.

Clarissa Start – Gardening columnist for the Post-Dispatch from 1938 to 1972. Her column was serialized in Ladies Home Journal. After retirement, she wrote her column for another 30 years.

Jack Thorwegan – Co-founder in 1985 of the Zipatoni marketing firm, known for its creative, edgy work. His Proof Agency, founded in 2014, helps craft brewers and distillers compete against larger rivals.

The St. Louis Media Hall of Fame has recognized St. Louisans who have made a major contribution, in their work here or elsewhere, to their respective media in four different fields: Radio (established in 2002), Print (established in 2006), Television (established in 2006), and Advertising/Public Relations (established in 2007).

This year, the Hall adds another field, Digital Media, with the induction of Jack Dorsey, the internet entrepreneur and St. Louis native who founded the online social networking service Twitter in 2006.

Follow us on Twitter | Like us on Facebook


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App

Listen Live