Brad Choat (Twitter: @choatsnews)

ST. LOUIS (KMOX) – The Federal Emergency Management Agency has a message for residents of Franklin, Jefferson, and St. Louis counties.

“If you have damage from the recent flooding and severe storms, you may be able to get money you would not have to repay, for basic home repairs, temporary rental assistance, and other needs not covered by insurance,” according to FEMA spokesman John Mills.

Mills says the key is to register and see what happens.

He says after registration a FEMA inspector will come out and assess the situation, “All of that information is quickly sent back to FEMA electronically. In most cases, people who are eligible receive money direct-deposited into their bank accounts.”

To register, click here for a link or call 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA).

There are 27 counties included in Missouri’s federal disaster declaration: Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Jasper, Jefferson, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, St. Louis County, Stone, Taney, and Texas counties.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

Download The App
Watch CBSN Live

Listen Live