Two More Towns Adopt Primary Seat Belt Laws

Brian Kelly

(KMOX)-Two more local communities have adopted primary seat belt ordinances, meaning police officers can pull over motorists for not wearing seatbelts.

Cottleville and Weldon Spring bring to 22 the number of Missouri municipalities with primary seatbelt laws. Seventeen are in the St. Louis area including St. Louis County, Ballwin, Clarkson Valley, Chesterfield, Creve Coeur, Foristell, Manchester, St. John, Herculaneum, Webster Groves, Brentwood, Hazelwood, Calverton Park, Charlack, Edmundson  and New Melle.

In other Missouri communities, officers can only cite motorists for not wearing seatbelts, if they stop them for another violation.

Copyright KMOX Radio

  • MO - Two More Towns Adopt Primary Seat Belt Laws

    […] […]

blog comments powered by Disqus
Listen Now
Thanksgiving Guide
Make Your Picks!

Listen Live