New Officers, Jailers Sworn In, in East St. Louis

EAST ST. LOUIS (KMOX) – “It’s a new day in East St. Louis.” That’s a quote from East St. Louis Police Chief Michael Floore after he swore-in five new officers and five new jailers on Tuesday.

Previous jailers had failed a drug test. A number of police officers simply resigned.

The ten new employees will start training at the SWIC adademy Wednesday.

Chief Floore says he is ecstatic and wants to bring new accountability to the department.

“We’ve letting the citizens of East St. Louis know that we are really trying to come back from all negativity we’ve been experiencing over the years” said Chief Floore.

He says along with the new officers and jailers will come new policies and standards.

The employees had to undergo, physical, psychological and written exams along with a drug test.

They are, Police Officers: Juan McCoy, Sylvester Woodhouse, Leland Cherry Junior, Nathan Abernathy and Taneisha Diggs.

Jailers: Byron Holton, Lisa Woodhouse, Eran Haire, Devi Greer and Naticia Long.


More From CBS St. Louis

KMOX Podcasts
As Heard On KMOX

Listen Live