Mo. Legislature Considers Tanning Bed Restrictions
JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (KMOX/Capitol Bureau) – Restrictions would be imposed on tanning facilities for the first time ever in Missouri under a measure passed by the Senate.
It would require parental consent for any person under the age of 17 to use a tanning bed.
Under the bill, salons that allow teenagers to tan without consent would face a $500 fine. State health officials would be charged with developing a standardized consent form for parents to use.
Sen. Kiki Curls, D-Jackson County, supported the bill.
“I’m glad that it’s being brought before us today, and I’m glad that we’re going to be able to finally vote on this so our children are healthy,” she said.
Sen. David Pearce, R-Warrensburg, opposed the measure.
“We are putting restrictions on small business, and we are creating a penalty provision on that,” he said.
The bill allows local police to enforce the law.
Senators voted 22-10 on Wednesday to send the bill back to the House, where a similar version passed earlier. Lawmakers must pass an identical measure by May 16.
(TM and © Copyright 2014 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2014 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)
MORE POLITICS NEWS:
- Landfill Neighbors to Deliver Signatures to Governor’s Office
- Feds Sending Missouri $36.7 Million to Help Crime Victims
- Lawsuit Against St. Louis Minimum Wage Hike In Court Tuesday
- St. Louis County Releases Disaster Plan for West Lake Landfill
- Political Outsider In The Mo. Governor’s Mansion?
- Nixon Commutes Kimber Edwards’ Sentence to Life Without Parole