Martha Stewart Jinxed a Pitcher’s Perfect Game in the 7th Inning

Sam Masterson (@sammasterson22)

It’s as fundamental a rule as ‘knock on wood’ or never saying ‘at least it can’t get any worse.’ Martha Stewart just learned why you never jinx a perfect game.

New York Yankees pitcher Michael Pineda had just thrown six inning of perfect baseball. Not one of Tampa Bay Rays first 18 batters had reached first base. Then Stewart changed the course of history with this tweet:

Pineda was able to get two more outs in the seventh, before the powers that be discovered Stewart’s inexcusable jinx. Rays third baseman Evan Longoria hit a double off Pineda – ending the perfect game. It happened just three minutes after Stewart’s tweet, according to ForTheWin.com.

Thankfully, the good folks of Twitter have taught Stewart the rule:

Please share this urgent information with your friends, we’ve got a long baseball season ahead of us and I would like to see a perfect game in 2017.

Follow us on Twitter | Like us on Facebook

Comments

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From CBS St. Louis

KMOX Podcasts
High School Spotlight
As Heard On KMOX

Listen Live